Skip to main content

Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries

Cooperation aims to promote clean energy technologies, more stable and transparent oil markets.

The Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) coordinates the oil policies of its 12 members – Algeria, Angola, Ecuador, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Venezuela.

The EU imports around 40% of its oil from OPEC members. In cooperating with OPEC, the EU aims to promote

  • more stable and transparent international oil markets
  • an attractive investment climate
  • better market analysis and forecasts
  • improved technological and international cooperation
  • promotion of clean energy technologies and policies - clean energy transition

EU-OPEC high-level meetings:

EU-OPEC round table meetings:

Related links