Skip to main content

Gas regional groups

There are four infrastructure corridors identified as priority by the Trans-European Networks for Energy (TEN-E), which require urgent infrastructure development in gas in order to end energy isolation from European gas markets, improve security of supply and provide for alternative supply and transit routes and sources of energy.

For each of these priority corridors, a dedicated regional group has been established to propose and assess candidate projects of common interest, which contribute the most to achieving EU’s energy and climate policy objective by modernising the existing grid.

North-South gas interconnections in Western Europe (‘NSI West Gas’)

Gas infrastructure for North-South gas flows in Western Europe to further diversify routes of supply and for increasing short-term gas deliverability. Member States concerned: Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, the United Kingdom;

North-South gas interconnections in Central Eastern and South Eastern Europe (‘NSI East Gas’)

Gas infrastructure for regional connections between and in the Baltic Sea region, the Adriatic and Aegean Seas, the Eastern Mediterranean Sea and the Black Sea, and for enhancing diversification and security of gas supply.

Member States concerned: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia;

Southern Gas Corridor (‘SGC’)

Gas infrastructure for the transmission of gas from the Caspian Basin, Central Asia, the Middle East and the Eastern Mediterranean Basin to the Union to enhance diversification of gas supply.

Member States concerned: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Cyprus, France, Germany, Hungary, Greece, Italy, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia;

Baltic energy market interconnection plan in gas (‘BEMIP Gas’)

Gas infrastructure to end the isolation of the three Baltic States and Finland and their dependency on a single supplier, to reinforce internal grid infrastructures accordingly, and to increase diversification and security of supplies in the Baltic Sea region.

Member States concerned: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Sweden.

Gas PCI regional group meetings

The agendas and web streaming/recordings for the gas PCI regional group meetings (since first meeting on 7 November 2018) are available here.

Related links