

Location:

Grand Arsenal - Centre of Mediterranean Architecture

09.30 - 10.00: Registration

10.00 - 11.00: Opening session

Dominique Ristori, Director General for Energy, European Commission

- Alexis Tsipras, Prime Minister of Greece
- Miquel Arias Cañete, Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy, European Commission
- · Joe Mizzi, Minister for Energy and Water management, Malta
- Maria Spyraki, Member of the European Parliament
- · Pierre Jean Coulon, President, European Economic and Social Committee, Section for Transport, Energy, Infrastructure and the Information Society
- · Stavros Arnaoutakis, Governor, Crete Region

11.00 - 11.30: Coffee break

11.30 - 12.45: Decarbonising EU islands

This session will discuss the impacts of the European Islands Initiative by showcasing existing and future plans to decarbonise EU islands.

Opening address and co-chairs:

- Giorgos Stathakis, Minister of Energy, Environment and Climate Change, Greece
- Dominique Ristori, Director-General for Energy, European Commission

Panel discussion with high-level representation from EU islands:

- · Nektarios Santorinios, Vice Minister of Maritime Affairs and Insular Policy of Greece
- Marie Antoinette Maupertuis, Member of the Corsican Executive Council, on behalf of Mr Gilles Simeoni, President of the Islands Commission of the Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions (CPMR) and President of the Executive Board of Corsica
- · Adrián Mendoza Grimón, Vice Minister of Industry, Energy and Trade of the Canary Islands
- Rui Bettencourt, Regional Assistant Secretary of the Presidency for External Affairs of the Regional Government of the Azores
- Elizabeth Press, Director, Planning and Programme Support, IRENA

12.45 - 13.30: Financing the decarbonization of EU islands

- Alessandro Boschi, Head of Renewables Division, the European Investment Bank
- · Ronald Hall, Principal Advisor, Directorate General for Regional Policy, European Commission

13.30 - 15.00 : Lunch break

15.00 - 17.30: Roundtables with best practices

This session will feature two roundtables showcasing existing best practices and innovative projects in the areas of renewables, research and innovation, and energy efficiency.

Roundtable 1: Transitioning large islands

Chair:

Megan Richards, Director Energy Policy, DG Energy, European Commission

Participants:

- Teresa Luis Ruiz, EURELECTRIC's Network of Experts on Islands' Energy Systems
- · Laurent Schmitt, Secretary-General, ENTSO-E
- Eduardo Maldonado, Energy Expert Group of Outermost Regions, University of Porto
- Eric Scotto, Renewable energy projects on islands, Akuo Energy, France
- Barry O'Connell, Integrating wind resources, Senior Lead Network Planning Engineer, Eirgrid
- · Alberto Ponti, Head of Research and Market Analysis, Connecting islands, Terna
- Juan Pedro Sánchez, CEO of Gorona del Viento El Hierro, vice-president of the Cabildo of El Hierro (Government of the Island)
- Iván Pineda, Director of public affairs in WindEurope, WindEurope
- Savvas Seimanidis, President, EREF
- Christian Buchel, Chairman, EDSO for Smart Grids

Roundtable 2: Transitioning small islands

Chair:

Mechthild Wörsdörfer, Director Renewables, Research and Innovation, and Energy Efficiency, DG Energy, European Commission

Participants:

- · John Kaldellis, Scientific Director of TILOS project, Tilos, Greece
- Didier Lhuillier, Director General of CNR, the example of Marie-Galante
- Rune Schmidt, Manager, Ærø Energy and Environment Office, Engaging communities, Denmark
- Gillian Hurding, Innovation Manager at Community Energy Scotland
- · Gianni Chianetta, Director, Greening the Islands
- · Julien Marchal, Vice-President of Naval Energies
- · James Watson, Chief Executive Officer, SolarPower Europe
- Marcelo Masera, Head of Unit 'Energy Security, Distribution & Markets', Joint Research Centre, European Commission
- Ilias Monacholias, Chief Executive Officer, PPC Renewables

17.30 - 17.45: Closing

Dominique Ristori, Director-General for Energy, European Commission