17th European Nuclear Energy Forum (ENEF) Draft Programme

Prague, 30 September – 1 October 2024

Monday, 30 September 2024

Venue: Municipal House (Obecní dům), Náměstí Republiky 5, 111 21 Prague

Moderator: Ms Susannah Streeter

19:00–22:00 Welcome dinner

19:00-19:10 Welcome remarks

Mr Petr Třešňák, Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade, Czech Republic

Mr Kamil Šaško, State Secretary of the Ministry of the Economy of the Slovak Republic

19:10–19:20 Keynote speech

Ms Alena Mastantuono, EESC, Security of medical radioisotopes supply

Tuesday, 1 October 2024 (1)

Venue: Grandior Hotel, Na Poříčí 1052/42, 110 00 Prague

Lead Moderator: Ms Michala Hergetová

8:00–9:00 Registration

9:00–9:05 Welcome (by lead moderator)

9:05–9:25 Welcoming remarks

9:05–9:15 Mr **Petr Fiala**, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic (*pre-recorded video*)

Mr Martin Dvořák, Minister for European Affairs. Czech Republic

9:15–9:25 Mr Robert Fico, Prime Minister of the Slovak Republic (pre-recorded video)

Mr Peter Kmec, Deputy Prime Minister of the Slovak Republic

9:25–10:15 Session 1: Role of nuclear power towards meeting the 2040 EU climate, energy, and industrial targets – opportunities and risks

Panel Moderator: Mr Massimo Garribba, Deputy Director General, DG ENER, European Commission

9:25–9:30 Introduction of the panel by the panel moderator

9:30–10:15 Panel discussion with the panel moderator

No press conference, attending journalists welcome. Press release after conclusion. No booths / posters / handouts.

Introductory remarks (4x4 minutes each) followed by a debate led by the moderator

Mr **Tomáš Ehler**, Acting Director General, Nuclear Energy and New Technologies Section, Ministry of Industry and Trade, Czech Republic

Ms Tsvetelina Penkova, Vice-chair ITRE Committee, European Parliament

Ms **Baiba Miltoviča**, President of the TEN Section, European Economic and Social Committee

Mr **Markus Rauramo**, President and CEO Fortum, Vice President Eurelectric

10:15-12:30 World café roundtables

10:15–10:20 Introduction by the lead moderator explaining the rules

Table moderators: Ms Michala Hergetová, Ms Susannah Streeter, Mr Matouš Lázňovský, and Mr Miroslav Hajnoš (EESC)

Table rapporteurs: Mr Gianfranco Brunetti (DG ENER), Ms Lenka Budínová (DG ENER), Ms Margareta Djordjevic (DG ENER), and Ms Ana Rita Lopes Ramos (DG ENER)

Participants may attend two roundtables that last 40 minutes each. During each roundtable, a table moderator will open the debate setting out questions to facilitate the debate; table rapporteurs will take notes and summarise the debates' outcome afterwards.

World café topics:

- Financing investments
- Nuclear safety in new context
- Public engagement
- Mobilising, strengthening and harnessing synergies in supply chains
- **10:20–10:45** Three impulse statements / mini–presentations (7 minutes each)

Mr Juan Carlos Lentijo, Chair, European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG)

Mr Vakis Ramany, Senior VP International Nuclear Development, EDF

Ms Myrto Tripathi, Voices of Nuclear

- 10:45-11:00 Coffee Break and separation into the break-out groups
- 11:00–11:45 1st World café break-out session (parallel roundtables to discuss the topics)
- 11:45–12:30 2nd World café break–out session (parallel roundtables to discuss the topics)
- 12:30–13:30 Lunch break (During the lunch break the rapporteurs will finalise their summaries per topic to be presented during the next point in the agenda)
- 13:30–14:00 Plenary presentations of the key outcomes for each topic by the table rapporteurs (4x5 minutes) and prompt reactions by the impulse speakers (3x2 minutes).

14:00–14:50 Session 2: Key enablers underpinning the role of nuclear energy in meeting the 2040 EU climate, energy, and industrial targets (possible audience participation [Q&A] through sli.do)

14:00–14:05 Introduction of the panel by the lead moderator

14:05–14:50 Panel discussion with the lead moderator

Introductory remarks (5x3 minutes each) followed by a debate led by the moderator

Mr **Massimo Garribba**, Deputy Director General, DG ENER, European Commission

Mr Laurent Kueny, Director of Energy, Ministry of Economics, Finance and Industrial and Digital Sovereignty, France

Mr Csaba Dohóczki, Vice-President, GMF

Ms **Iga Pocztarek-Tofil**, Chair WG1 Nuclear Safety and International Cooperation, European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG)

Mr Yves Desbazeille, Director General, nucleareurope

14:50–15:05 Coffee Break

15:05–16:45 Session 3: European Industrial Alliance on SMRs – opportunities and challenges to progress towards deployment by early 2030s (moderated by lead moderator)

Lead Moderator: Ms Susannah Streeter

15:05–15:10 Introduction of the topic and the panel by the lead moderator

15:10–16:40 Plenary panel with introductory remarks and discussion (audience participation through sli.do)

Introductory remarks (6x4 minutes each) followed by a debate led by the moderator

Participants:

Mr Jan Pánek, Director, DG ENER, European Commission

Mr Bernard Salha, President, SNETP

Prof Vladimír Slugeň, Slovak Technical University

Mr **Madis Vasser**, Senior Expert on Small Modular Reactors, Estonian Green Movement

Ms **Dana Drábová**, Chairwoman of the Czech State Office for Nuclear Safety

Ms Silvana Jirotková, Head of the SMR Development, ČEZ

16:40–16:45 Conclusion by the lead moderator (referring to the sli.do results)

16:45–16:55 Final remarks

Mr Jan Pánek, Director, DG ENER, European Commission